Queries on Elisa for beginners

Guest Priya

Hi

I am quite new to ELISA. We have recently purchased few cytokine ELISA kits from mabtech. I have some queries and will appreciate any help on that. 

1. I have high binding plates from costar and also maxisorp strips from nunc. Which is preferred.? Do different plates give different readings. ?

2. Can i store the coated plate. If yes ,how?

3.how long should i give for substrate incubation. When the reaction has to be stopped? Should i do different time points reading and compare or how is it actually done?

4. What is the concentration of stop solution while using tmb substrate?

Kindly clarify. 

Thanks

Hi Priya,

Welcome to our forum and thanks for your interest in our products. I will try to answer your questions.

1)      The ELISA plates need to be high-protein binding and there are several suppliers available. What plates that are preferred is up to the user. Strip plates are very convenient if you only use a couple of wells for each experiment, but these plates are generally a bit more expensive. Different plates could give different background readings but the difference is generally very minor. If possible (due to the ELISA reader), we recommend to read a reference wavelength (e.g. 650nm), which corresponds to the background from the plastic, subtract the reference OD values from the samples OD reading.