FluoroSpot questions

Emma

Hi,

I’ve been reading about FluoroSpot and have a few questions:

1.       What are the advantages of this method compared to intracellular FACS?

2.       I have some experience with ELISpot, would this be of use? The techniques seem rather similar…

3.       What kind of reader is required?

Thanks!  

//Emma

Emma, welcome to the Mabtech forum! Let me try to answer these questions for you:

1:

FluoroSpot and intracellular cytokine staining (ICS) in combination with flow cytometry both share the nice property of being able to detect cytokines at the single cell level. Nonetheless, FluoroSpot is generally acknowledged as being a more sensitive technique and better suited for high throughput screening. But apart from this, other important differences exist as well:

First, the FluoroSpot technique detects cytokines that have been actively secreted by the producing cells (i.e. biologically relevant cytokines). By contrast, ICS only detect cytokines that have accumulated inside of cells usually in the presence of a protein transport inhibitor such as Brefeldin A. As a result, a positive population of cytokine stained cells in flow cytometry does not necessarily translate into cytokines that would have been destined for cytokine release. In FluoroSpot this is not an issue.

Second, FluoroSpot is an “accumulative” method that captures cytokines during the entire period of incubation (24h, 48 or 72h for example). By contrast, intracellular cytokines in ICS are only captured during a limited “window” of Brefeldin A incubation, usually lasting 4-6h and often preceded by a standardized period of pre-activation (many times 16-20h). Thus, any cytokines produced prior to the addition of this Brefeldin A will not be detected using ICS. You run into the risk of simply missing important populations of cytokine producing cells, which is not the case in FluoroSpot.