B cell ELISpot- Positive Control

ShawnAbeynaike

Hi All,

I am just starting out with B Cell ELISpots, and just trying to get the assay running with the positive control (Total Ig) at this stage. (This is the first time B Cell ELISpots are being used in my lab, but we have successfully used T Cell ELISpots). I am using PBMCs from patient blood samples 6-9 days post infection. I have tried using the basic protocol provided by Mabtech. I have also tried stimulating with IL-2 and R848 for 48 hours. Finally I have also attempted substituting wash buffers with PBS, PBS/EDTA and PBS/Tween based buffers which I obtained from a different lab which had success with B Cell ELISpots. I am not seeing any spots. 

Any suggestions on what steps I should be looking at this point to troubleshoot? 

Thanks,

Shawn

Hey Shawn and welcome to the forum!

When you say no spots, is the membrane totally devoid of any spots or are there just very very few ones? A picture would help a lot from a total IgG well. 

Also, are you using Mabtech human IgG ELISpot kit? This one: https://www.mabtech.com/products/3850-2a_human-igg-elispotbasic-alp

Finally, after incubating the PBMC for 48h in IL-2 and R848, do you check viability of the cells?

best,

Christian

Hi Christian,

Yes to all the above. The membrane is totally devoid of spots. Yes I am using the kit you linked. I counted cells before and after incubation with IL-2 and R848. I'm running out of ideas as to what could be going wrong. I am not the first one to try it in our lab without success either.

Any suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks,

Shawn

This sounds odd. 

Could of course be many things but I just thought of something: what substrate are you using for developing the spots?

ELISpot absolutely require a precipitating substrate. ELISA substrates wont work. Could this be something?

We ofcourse recommend mabtech BCIP/NBT Plus substrate found here: https://www.mabtech.com/products/3650-10_bcip-nbt-plus-substrate-elispot