Number of T cells per well

Guest Sylvain

Guest Sylvain

Hi,

I'm new to the ELISPOT world, I would like to detect tumor-Ag specific CD8 T cells (human) within T cells sorted from peripheral blood. I plan to stimulate sorted T cells with specific peptides of interest and look at IFNg secretion. I did it by flow cytometry but the background was to high to discriminate specific anti-tumor responses I was looking for. I have a few questions:

1. Ag specific T cells will be of very low frequency within my samples, I was planning to use a large number of cells for all tested peptides that I would plate in several wells to increase the probabilty to find some specific T cells. How many T cells can I plate in one well? 

2. Would you prefer to perform those test in autopresentation or to load peptides on T2 cells for example?

3. How long should I culture the T cells with the peptides?

4. Would the ELISPOT Plus kit increase the sensitivity and decrease the background compared to classic ELISPOT kit? 

Thank you very much for your help,

Best,

Sylvain.

Hi Sylvain, and welcome to the Mabtech forum!

It sounds like a wise choice to go for ELISpot to detect tumor-antigen specific T cells. Here are my answers to your questions:

1. Given that the antigen-specific T cells are very low-frequent, I think you're doing the right thing sorting the T cells first. Normally in ELISpot, you plate between 50k and 500k cells, and in your case I would plate 300k - 400k T cells per well. That way the cells aren't too crowded but you still have plenty of purified T cells to evaluate in each well.