Antigen-specific B cell ELISPOT

akira

Dear Staffs,

This is my first time to perform B cell ELISPOT and plan to detect antigen (drug)-specific IgG or IgM response.

My plan is to coat the plate (MultiScreenHTS IP Filter Plate, Millipore) with specific antigen, and use anti-human IgG mAbs MT78/145, biotinylated (3850-6-250) or anti-human IgM mAb MT22, biotinylated (3880-6-250), followed by adding Streptavidin-ALP for ELISpot (3310-10-1000).

I am able to detect antigen-specific B cells in PBMC with the similar frequency with flu-specific B cells by FACS, although it is very low frequency.

1. I appreciate if you provide the recommended dilution rate of these Abs to begin with.

2. I wonder if I should use antigen-specific B cell (sorted by FACS) or whole B cells in this ELISPOT.

I appreciate if you give the advice for it..

Sincerely,

Hi Akira.

I could probably help you with this.

1. The detection antibody for IgG (MT78/145) and IgM (MT22) could be used at 0.5ug/ml (1:1000 dilution).

2. If you noticed that the frequency of antigen-specific B-cells were low, I would recommend using non-sorted PBMC (250-500k cells/well). Since the recovery of purification is not 100%, there is a possibility that you loose important cells in the process. If you want to look at resting MBC, I would recommend pre-stimulation of PBMC for 5 days using R848 and rec.IL-2 before use in the ELISpot.

I have attached an article describing this protocol for stimulation (although for FluoroSpot).

Dont hesitate to ask if there is something else.

Good luck!

Multiplex analysis of antigen-specific memory B cells in humans using reversed B-cell FluoroSpot.pdf

• 3 months later...
Guest akira

Dear Jahnmatz,

I want to ask one more.

To  detect total IgM spots, which antibody do you recommend  as a coating antibody? I can't find the "Human IgM mAb Guide" in  the  webpage.